I fell off the wagon…

I fell off the wagon, and am having a hard time getting motivated to get back on. I was able to escape from our life a bit this weekend for a conference, and there are several things I have learned that having nothing at all to do with EMS (which my conference is about). I am sure not everything that I will share will resonate with you, but I hope some of it will. Let me know if you are on the struggle bus with me, please?

Here is what I have learned, in no particular order.

  1. I am lazy. Let’s be honest, it is so much easier to put on a movie in my sweats than it is to turn on a workout. I really do not want to be this way, but I seem to always sink back into those old habits.
  2. If I really want to be more motivated to workout, I need to make it happen. Just saying I want that to change will not do anything, but I can continually take steps in the right direction to turn into the person I want to be.
  3. This change will not happen overnight. Somedays, I can celebrate the fact that I have lost weight and have been amazing about my workouts. Other days, I need to celebrate the fact that I had one less soda than I did the day before. Even small steps in the right direction count.
  4. I need to not give up when I fail. Now hear me out on this one. It seems like common sense to not quit, but there is so much more to this than it initially appears. I expect perfection, and if I do not do my diet or exercises perfectly, they are considered a failure. The truth is, that is not how this works. In order for this to be a sustainable life style change, I need to be able to have a piece of Halloween candy. Do I need to sit down with the bag and have a handful of candy? No. But if I never allow myself some of those treats, I will never succeed.
  5. Guilt. What an ugly word! But this weekend, I realized that I feel guilty for taking care of myself. I feel like I should be taking care of the kids, or the house, or the husband, or, or, or. And you know what? These things are not mutually exclusive. I can take care of everything and everyone that I need to, but still take care of myself as well. Hopefully, taking care of myself will result in me being a better wife, mother, housekeeper, etc.
  6. And lastly, after a weekend away, I realized that I am so incredibly blessed to be able to stay home with my kiddos. I needed a break so badly, but I did not know what to do with myself without them around. I am blessed with a hardworking husband who makes it possible for me to not work. Someday, I will go back to work, but until then, I get to be the one to load my kids on the bus in the morning and snuggle my Maddie girl while we watch a princess movie.

So what does all of this mean going forward? I am going to celebrate the little changes and not give up when I do not stick to my diet or exercise plan 100%. Even one workout is better than if I had not done it at all! I am also going to focus on truth and make the decision to ignore the lies that we too often believe as moms. What I do does matter, and I do not need to lose who I am because I am a mom. So I will be working on myself for a little bit, and probably trying a few different things so that I have a hobby outside of studying for school. (Any suggestions on what to try?)

Today, I will focus on this truth. I am a daughter of the King, and that makes me worth so much more than I am able to see!

straighten-my-crown

Leave a Reply

