End of week 2

I am learning some things about myself as I am on this journey to health and wellness. I have learned that the healthy eating will not be the hard part, but the exercise is. Let’s face it, it would be much easier to just sit on the couch and watch TV than it would be to workout and sweat like crazy in my already hot house. But you know what else I have learned about that? I can talk myself out of just laying around and get up and do something. Just because my head says one thing, that does not mean it is the way it has to be. As women, in particular, our mind lies to us often. We are not too fat, or too ugly, or too old, or not good enough. Ladies, these are a lie! All of them. We need to not let these thoughts define us, or we will miss out on living our life because we constantly feel inadequate.

I took my kids to the pool last week for a play date with some mommies. I debated all morning if I was going to go in my swim suit or not because I was too fat and no one wanted to see that. Reluctantly, I put my swim suit on in case something happened and I needed to go after one of my three kids who did not swim, threw my coverup over me, and we left. I happened to beat everyone to the pool, but Maddie would not go in without me going with her. So I took a deep breath, took my cover up off and went in the pool with her. Once I was in the water, I had forgotten about all these insecurities and I was able to play with my kids and have fun. The other moms showed up with their kids and I started to get nervous. Now, these are ladies I know very well and I know they would never say “Wow. Look at how fat you are,” but my mind was convinced something of the sort was going to be said. It was not. Nothing even close to that was said. One commented on how cute my suit was, and the other one commented on how I was a good mom for getting in to play with my kids. And in that pool, something significant happened. I realized that I did not care if someone else thought I was too big to be in my swim suit, because I was working on improving myself. My kids will not remember the mom who looked horrible in a swim suit, but they will remember that time that I went swimming and caught them at the bottom of the slide in the pool.

Ladies, do not believe the lies! Do not let them define you. If you have an area that you are not happy with, work on it and hold your head high. If you do not have friends that will build you up, find new friends! Come be part of my tribe, because I have some pretty phenomenal friends. And most importantly, remember that we are deeply loved by the creator of the entire world and that is enough for us. Always.

For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.
My frame was not hidden from you
    when I was made in the secret place,
    when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.

Psalm 139:13-15

Leave a Reply

